BATON ROUGE – The Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR) reminds shoppers on Black Friday, Cyber Monday, and throughout the year that “online” does not mean “tax-free.” Louisiana’s Consumer Use Tax applies to purchases from out-0f-state vendors who do not charge sales tax. This occurs frequently when shopping online or with catalogues or television shopping networks.
When out-of-state vendors do not charge sales tax, Louisiana state law requires the shopper to report and pay the Consumer Use Tax. The tax is calculated at a rate of 8 percent, payable directly to the Department of Revenue.
The Consumer Use Tax helps to protect Louisiana businesses from unfair competition with online retailers and other out-of-state vendors who don’t charge sales tax. And it helps to provide the money for vital state services such as education, health care and public safety.
Shoppers can report the Consumer Use Tax on their state individual income tax returns, or they can use the Consumer Use Tax return, available at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/taxforms.
BATON ROUGE – The 2013 Louisiana Tax Amnesty program that concluded on Friday has reached its goal of $200 million in collections.
“Based on applications and payments processed as of this morning, we have met the $200 million goal included in the budget for fiscal year 2014,” Secretary of Revenue Tim Barfield said Monday. “We expect that number to grow as we receive and process applications and payments submitted in the final days and hours of the amnesty program.”
LA Tax Amnesty 2013: A Fresh Start offered noncompliant taxpayers an opportunity to settle their accounts with the state by paying all taxes due, with a waiver of all penalties and 50 percent of the interest. Eligible taxpayers could apply for amnesty online, by mail, or in person at Department of Revenue offices. Applications submitted by mail are valid as long as they were postmarked no later than Friday, November 22. As those applications and payments are received and processed, the amnesty total is expected to increase.
From the IRS:
New Orleans – The Internal Revenue Service is reminding 9,600 Louisiana tax professionals that their Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) will expire on Dec. 31, 2013.
Nationwide, almost 690,000 federal tax return preparers must renew their PTIN for 2014. Anyone who prepares or assists in preparing federal tax returns for compensation must have a valid PTIN.
In Louisiana, 9,600 tax professionals with active and provisional PTINs are affected by this requirement. That includes 2,758 CPAs, 346 Enrolled Agents and 213 Attorney’s.
“We ask that you renew your PTIN as soon as possible to avoid a last-minute rush. It’s easy to let this slip as the holiday season approaches,” said Carol A. Campbell, Director, IRS Return Preparer Office.
The IRS is now processing applications and renewals for 2014. The fee to renew a 2013 PTIN is $63. If you are registering for the first time, the PTIN application fee is $64.25. Both can be completed online at www.irs.gov/ptin.
For more information about requirements for federal tax professionals and access to the online PTIN system, go to www.irs.gov/for-Tax-Pros.
More details in IRS News Release-2013-85, 2014 PTIN Renewal Period Underway for Tax Professionals http://www.irs.gov/uac/Newsroom/2014-PTIN-Renewal-Period-Underway-for-Tax-Professionals.
Friday, November 22 is the deadline for LA Tax Amnesty 2013: A Fresh Start.