Archive for September 2, 2009

2nd Amendment Weekend Sales Tax Holiday starts Friday

The inaugural Louisiana Second Amendment Weekend Sales Tax Holiday takes place Friday, September 4, through Sunday, September 6.

During this sales tax holiday weekend, the sales and use tax levied by the state and its political subdivisions shall not apply to any consumer purchases of firearms, ammunition and hunting supplies. The Annual Louisiana Second Amendment Weekend Holiday Act became effective July 9, 2009.

The state and local sales and use tax exemption applies to an individual’s purchase of firearms, ammunition and hunting supplies. The sales and use tax exemption is not available for business purchases. Consumer purchases do not include the purchase of animals for hunting.

Guidelines for the sales tax holiday are available online at revenue.louisiana.gov.

Comments

EDITORIAL: 'Tax amnesty is a sensible plan'

From the Lafayette Daily Advertiser:

Consider for a moment the scope of Louisiana’s problem with delinquent taxes.

This year, the Legislature fought over higher-education cuts and health-care cuts. Oil prices were half what they were the previous summer, and natural gas prices were barely a third. Unemployment was up. Revenue was down $1.3 billion and threatening to get worse.

The Louisiana Department of Revenue was owed $473 million in delinquent receivables, mainly past-due taxes that should have been filed by an estimated 242,000 filers and should-have-been filers. That number is equal to about one Louisiana household in seven.

But the Louisiana Tax Amnesty Program is offering many delinquent filers a way out. If it’s not exactly painless, it carries less pain than the other available remedies. The amnesty was passed in the last session and signed by Gov. Bobby Jindal on July 10.

Read more.

Comments